Sunday 18 September 2022

Year End 'Big Money' Tournament

The tournament season has come to an end at the club with our 'Big Money' tournament. This year we had four pairs teams, with two floaters. The floaters would bowl with the team that lost the matt and was losing in the game. It made for some interesting games.

Mike Gilchrist and Frank Buck took home the 'big money,' while Joyce-Ann Bacon and Linda Bower finished second, and Jean Bresee and Pat Ferrier took third. Curt Moll and Sam Ferrier finished in fourth and out of the 'big money.'

Special thanks to Beth Davies and Barb Moll who were the floaters. Both volunteered to float and knew they would not be winning any 'big money' in their role. 

All that remains this season are jitney evenings on Wednesdays. Remember the start time is now 6:00. 

Wednesday 14 September 2022

Singles Champs Declared

The singles league wrapped up on Saturday. Seven of the eight players were able to participate. 

The first round had Sam Ferrier play Stephen Bezanson to see who would get to play the first seed in the semi-finals. Stephen defeated Sam 21-7 to earn that honour. 

The second round had Stephen Bezanson play the first seed, Doug Sanregret. The other semi-final saw second seed Curt Moll go up against Mike Gilchrist. Doug made short work of Stephen with a convincing 13-3 win, while Curt and Mike had a closer match with Curt coming out on top 12-11.

Mike and Stephen played for bronze, with Mike coming out on top 14-10. Doug was up 6-3 after six ends, but then Curt went on a streak only giving up points in the 11 end and won 11-7. It was Curt's third singles championship, but first since 2017.

On the ladies side Yvonne Sanregret took down current two time champion Barb Moll 11-8 to win her first club championship. 

Both Doug and Yvonne bowled at an Ottawa club the last few years and have been in Medicine Hat for less than a year now. 

Wednesday 7 September 2022

Club Pairs Champions Crowned

The club pairs championship was won for the first time by Curt and Barb Moll. The number 4 seeds upset the number 1 seed, Wes and Jean Bresee with a convincing 17-5 win in the semi-finals. In the other semi-final the number 3, Mike Gilchrist and Carman Carr, defeated the number 2 seed Frank Buck and Joyce-Ann Bacon 8-7.

Frank and Joyce-Ann were to take on Wes and Jean in the 'B' championship but the Bresee's withdrew due to an injury. Frank and Joyce-Ann won their second Red Amos Trophy in three years.

The Moll's also dominated the pairs final with a 15-3 win over Gilchrist and Carr to take their first ever pairs title and the HJ Cove Memorial Trophy.