News‎ > ‎

Novice Tournament

posted 27 Aug 2016, 16:09 by Website Editor
For the first time in 22 years, the novice trophy was played for. Four teams, made up of bowlers who have been bowling for five years or less, vied for the chance to have their names etched on the storied trophy. The first time the trophy was played for was in 1959. Over the years, although the trophy was meant for pairs competition, there are also listed singles champions and triples champions. Current members on the trophy include President Sandy Morrice (1965) and Robert Young (1993). If you ever want to hear stories of the club's past, ask Sandy about many of the names on the trophy and he'll tell you a story or two about them. 

Allen Hunt and Joan Theriault are the newest names that will be etched on the trophy. They defeated Wes and Jean Bresee, 7-6 in an extra end. George Taylor and Yvonne Anctil took the third place games with a 9-6 win over Jim and Mary Clegg.