Medicine Hat Memorial Tournament

posted 21 Jul 2019, 21:58 by Website Editor

Fourteen teams from Medicine Hat (5) and Edmonton (9) played in the fifth edition of the Medicine Hat Memorial Tournament. This tournament was originally created to provide an opportunity for bowlers who do not play in provincial events to play in a fun and relaxed tournament. The Edmonton clubs - Royal, Commonwealth, and Highland - provided great competition and a lot of laughs.!
Saturday had teams play four games after which they were seeded into one of four divisions. On Sunday we had the playoffs starting with the semi-finals and then the finals. It was an all Medicine Hat final with Barb Moll defeating the Ina Lutz team. It was the first time a Medicine Hat team has won the tournament.
Division 1 - Barb Moll (skip), Curt Moll, Eric Moll (Medicine Hat)
Division 2 - Wes Bresee (skip) Jeff Desjaralis, Jean Bresee (Medicine Hat)
Division 3 - Merv Cleasby (skip), Bob Griffith, Eng Gouw (Royal)
Division 4 - Marlen Shustov (skip), Joe van Alstine, Francis Jo (Royal)
Ben Osterman Plaque, Outstanding Skip - Trevor Pohle (Royal)

55+ Games

posted 21 Jul 2019, 21:47 by Website Editor

Lawn bowls was not an official event on the 55+Games calandar. However, since bocce was and they were using the lower green, we had our own in house tournaments. Friday we hosted a singles tournament and Saturday we hosted a pairs tournament. 
The singles tournament saw Joan Theriault take gold, while Jean Bresee took silver, and Nanko Dubbelboer took the bronze. The pairs tournament had Wes and Jean Bresee take the gold in the 70+ category, Joan Theriault and Danny Frey take the silver, and Gerry Aitken and Helen Young take the bronze. The the 55+ category, Terry Lerner and Barb Moll took the gold. 

First Dave Dennis Memorial Crown Bowls Tournament

posted 28 May 2019, 20:45 by Website Editor

Our inaugural Dave Dennis Crown Bowls Tournament was a success. Seven women and six men competed for the Dave Dennis trophy. 
We played a modified version of crown bowls. If you watched us play, it would look more like bocce. The format is a one versus one format with competitors using two bowls. Once the first end is over, the winner of the end has to place the mat where the jack was. They can point the mat in any direction they want. It was fun to see bowlers hesitate throwing their bowls because it might cross paths with another bowl from another game. The game was over when one player reached 11 points. The average length of a game was between 11-13 ends. 
Club president, Joan Theriault won the ladies side with a victory of Dave's wife, Pat Dennis. Barb Moll took the bronze medal game with a close win over Jean Bresee. On the men's side, Curt Moll took gold, with Allen Hunt taking the silver, and Jeff Desjarlais taking the bronze. 
We hope to continue this new tournament for many years to come!

Youth Bowls Camps

posted 21 May 2019, 21:45 by Website Editor

Medicine Hat Lawn Bowling is initiating youth bowls camps for the month of July. These camps will be held on Tuesday and Thursdays in July from 10:00 am to noon. Children from ages 7-16 are invited to play. The cost is $25 for the month. Certified Club Coach Barb Moll will lead children in a variety of activities and games created to make bowls a fun experience for your child. For more information, call Barb at (403) 504-8746.

Yardstick Tournament

posted 26 Aug 2018, 17:42 by Website Editor

Our inaugural Yardstick Tournament was a success with 20 participants - 6 from Lethbridge Lawn Bowling. Robert, Al, and Bob from Lethbridge swept the men's top three; Esther (Lethbridge) took first, Ina (MH) took second, and Esther (Lethbridge) and Linda (MH) tied for third. All seven of these players got to sign the permanent yardstick to show their 2018 win and each were also awarded their own labeled yardstick to keep.

Novice Pairs Tournament

posted 23 Aug 2018, 21:55 by Website Editor

The novice pairs tournament was held August 23. Ten teams vied for the novice trophy, up from six the previous year. The unbeatable duo of Wes Bresee and Jeff Desjarlais won all three of their games to take home the novice pairs trophy. Daniel Frey and Danielle Donington took second, while Jean Bresee and Barb Moll took home the third place medals. 

Bresee and Desjarlais Repeat as Pairs Champs

posted 23 Aug 2018, 21:50 by Website Editor   [ updated 23 Aug 2018, 21:57 ]

Wes and Jeff ran to table winning all 10 of their round robin games to take the pairs league championship for the second year in a role. Their names will be engraved on the J. Gibson Trophy. Curt and Barb finished at 6-4 to place second, while Ina and Lori went 5-5 to finish third. The six teams will now be placed in an 'A' division (top three teams) and a 'B' division (bottom three teams) and play Tuesday, August 28 to finish off the pairs season.

Wes and Jeff are receiving the trophy from club president Bill Cuthill.

Dave Dennis Passes Away

posted 15 Aug 2018, 21:50 by Website Editor

It is with great sadness that we have to say goodbye to Dave Dennis, who passed away August 15. Dave has been with the club for 4 years. Dave was elected club president in December 2017, but had to resign in late January due to health reasons. Dave was full of energy and got along with everyone! Three week before his death he was responsible for the food for the Memorial Tournament. Even though he wasn't 100% both days, he gave us 100% and made everyone feel welcome and important. 
The flag at the club has been lower to half mast and will remain at half mast until after his funeral.

Memorial Triples Tournament

posted 25 Jul 2018, 22:20 by Website Editor

We hosted the Memorial Triples Tournament this year. We had 15 teams from Royal LBC, Highlands LBC, Lethbridge LBC, and, of course, Medicine Hat LBC. This tournament is unique in the province as it is meant for players that normally don't play in other Bowls Alberta sanctioned tournaments. Teams are supposed to comprise of an experienced player, a novice players, and a beginning player. Prizes are small, but the fun and laughter is huge. 
Congratulations to the following:
A Champions - Tony Spencer, Barbara Spencer, & Monika Pachan (Highlands LBC-Edmonton)
B Champions - May Dalziel, Sue Davison, & Francis Yo (Royal LBC-Edmonton)
C Champions - Marlen Shustov, Anne Hammond, & Magaret McDonald (Royal LBC-Edmonton)
D Champions - Jim Clegg, Mary Clegg, & Bill Cuthill (Medicine Hat LBC)
Ben Osterman Award - Curt Moll

Upper Green Re-Opened

posted 18 Jul 2018, 22:25 by Website Editor

The club celebrated the hard work and effort of Jim Reid, our intrepid groundskeeper, and of Dustin Zdan, Superintendent of Connaught Golf and Country Club. In the spring our upper green looked done for. Dustin offered his services to help fix the upper green. In seven weeks the upper green is ready for the Medicine Hat Memorial Tournament on July 21-22! A re-opening ceremony was held on the July 17 jitney. CHAT TV and the Medicine Hat News were in attendance to witness Jim and Dustin cut the caution tape to the green, and to see our president, Bill Cuthill, throw the ceremonial first bowl. Thank you to Dustin and to Connaught for the use of their equipment and employees, and for passing on their knowledge to Jim. We are eternally grateful!

1-10 of 122